Health Care Awards

Improving patients’ quality of care includes supporting staff through recognition of a job well done. We are grateful to all our health care professionals for the outstanding care they provide and through two recognition programs are pleased to celebrate those inspiring individuals who demonstrate the deepest of commitments to patient care. Our Health Care Heroes program allows LGH patients and family members to thank their health care providers and local health care professionals themselves can nominate colleagues for a North Shore Health Care Award.

Health Care Heroes

Lions Gate Hospital Foundation is excited to announce a new recognition program – Health Care Heroes. It’s a thank you program that recognizes the exceptional care, compassion, and attention that health care providers so willingly give to others. Patients and families can recognize a hero by making a donation in an individual or department’s honor as a special way to say thank you for the important work and care that was provided. Click here to fill out the form and recognize your Health Care Hero.

For more information regarding the Health Care Heroes Program please contact us at

North Shore Health Care Awards for Outstanding Achievement

Every day in a multitude of ways, there are individuals working in health care who make a significant difference to the people they serve and to the people they work with. Some of them provide direct care and some support the people and systems that provide that care. All have a passion for excellence and frequently go ‘above and beyond’ to achieve outstanding results. The North Shore Health Care Awards for Outstanding Achievement are designed to recognize and to celebrate these exceptional people. Staff are now invited to nominate their peers who are deserving of a Health Care Award.

DEADLINE TO NOMINATE: Nominations are due by October 30th at 4pm; however, there is an Early Bird deadline of October 23rd at 4pm and all nominations submitted by October 23rd will be entered to win a Pizza Party for their department!

There are two ways to nominate:

  1. Click here to access and download the nomination form and submit via email, fax, mail, or in person at the Foundation Office; or
  2. Pick up a form at the Foundation Office on the main floor of LGH.

Lions Gate Hospital Foundation funds three $1,000 awards in three distinct categories:

Workplace Inspiration

A health care workplace environment can be significantly enriched by an individual who exemplifies professional competence, a positive “can do” attitude, a willingness to share his or her knowledge and skills generously, and the motivation and commitment to ‘go the extra mile’ for both their colleagues and the people they serve. This award honours those who energize the workplace and who are dedicated not only to their chosen career, but also serve as a role model for those considering a career in health care.

Clinical Practice

Continuous improvement is key to better health outcomes and to the effective and efficient delivery of service. This award honours staff and physicians who have identified an opportunity for improvement and then acted on it. This could be in the area of clinical research, process redesign, innovative curriculum development and delivery, software development or adaptation, or the creation of a new health care program or service. The intent is to honour those who have had a systemic influence on the care and service we provide not only on the North Shore, but also on the health region as a whole or even on a provincial or national level.


Leadership is a way of being, not a job title. This award honours those who lead by example, either formally or informally. Such an individual earns the trust and respect of colleagues, sees problems as opportunities to think critically and systemically, communicates effectively, endeavours to build strong and inclusive teams, takes responsibility for his/her actions, and recognizes the contributions and talents of others. Leaders are also integral to influencing the culture of a unit or organization and have a positive effect on recruitment and retention.

Congratulations to the 2018 award recipients…


Year Recipients







Clinical Practice – Jeff Kusaka
Leadership – Natasha Mohan
Workplace Inspiration – Lauren Millar
Philanthropy – Mehri Parsi
Clinical Practice – Dr. David Critchley
Leadership – Nelson Tung
Workplace Inspiration – Corinne Beck
Philanthropy – Leanne AppletonClinical Practice – Gill Walker
Leadership – Cindy Hartley
Workplace Inspiration – Andra Grigore
Philanthropy – Christie Manlolo
Clinical Practice – Deborah Snick
Leadership – Carissa Looman
Workplace Inspiration – Rose Bencito
Philanthropy – Bruce Coulter
2014 Clinical Practice – Dr. Arvind Kang
Leadership – David Hall
Workplace Inspiration – Renee Long
Spirit of Philanthropy – Michelle Stanton & Dr. Philip Cohen
2013 Clinical Practice – Dr. Alan Baggoo
Leadership – Susan Thack
Workplace Inspiration – Angela Crawford
Spirit of Philanthropy – Lori Baker
2012 Clinical Practice – Zahra Kanji
Leadership – Patricia Townsley
Workplace Inspiration – Debbie Lopez
Spirit of Philanthropy – Dr. Allan Burgmann
2011 Clinical Practice – Dr. Paul Termansen
Leadership – Dr. Dean Brown
Workplace Inspiration – Marianne Thee
Spirit of Philanthropy – Cindy Lim
2010 Clinical Practice – Dr. Paul Sabiston
Leadership – Carol Hird
Workplace Inspiration – Dr. Peter Edmunds
2009 Clinical Practice – Derek Andrews
Leadership – Heather Mohan
Workplace Inspiration – Shannon McBoyle
2008 Clinical Practice – Dr. Gary Andolfatto
Leadership – Shirley Cornthwaite
Workplace Inspiration – April Watson